Friday, 7 June 2013

Pontypridd: A winning squad stays put

Defending league and cup champions Pontypridd RFC will carry the main bulk of its squad into the next season, with the objective that an established pool of players can emulate the significant successes of the previous campaign.

Ponty's winning habit was underpinned by a selection policy of rest and rotation amongst a talented squad within which every single member played a part. The news that the squad will remain mostly intact into the forthcoming campaign will bolster the club's hopes of further success.

There are some departures to report. Flanker Ed Siggery, after a brief one season return to Sardis Road, moves on again to join up with newly promoted English Championship club Ealing Trailfinders. Released by Pontypridd at the close of the season is scrum half Carl Thomas.

Two Blues Academy players who featured regularly for Ponty over the past months, hooker Darran Harris and lock Cory Hill, have meanwhile been released from their regional contracts. Harris will join up with the Scarlets whilst Hill has signed for English Championship club Moseley.

All four departees go with the sincere thanks and best wishes of all at Sardis Road.

The core Pontypridd RFC squad that remains in harness for the 2013 - 2014 season is as follows:

Geraint Walsh. Adam Thomas. Gareth Wyatt. Chris Clayton. Matthew Nuthall. Lewis Williams. Owen Williams. Gavin Dacey. Gary Williams. Dafydd Lockyer. Simon Humberstone. Dai Flanagan. Gareth James.

Scott Roberts. Stuart Williams. Chris Phillips. Keiron Jenkins. Pat Palmer. Huw Dowden. Craig Locke. Chris Dicomidis. Dafydd Davies. Jordan Sieniawski. Jake Thomas.  Rhys Shellard. Tom Hetherington. Wayne O'Connor. Dan Godfrey. Owen Sheppeard.


Post a Comment