Sunday, 9 June 2013

Neath, Ynystawe and Carmarthen primed as title contenders in South Wales Cricket Association

Neath, Ynystawe and Carmarthen Wanderers have emerged as potential title challengers in Division One after all three picked up victories yesterday.

Neath took the spoils in a thrilling top of the table clash with Tata Steel, emerging as victors by two wickets in a result that sees Tata drop to fifth in the table.

The Steelmen elected to bat but were all out for just 108 in the 41st over, with Neath pair Nathan Aubrey (3-10) and Keiran Bull (3-22) tearing their batting order apart. Owen Davies’ 23 was the only score of real note for Tata.

In reply, the Gnoll outfit made steady progress. Adrian Shaw knocked 34 and the on-form Bull returned to hit 22 to see the leaders home to a fifth win of the season, as they posted 109-8. Steel bowlers Michael and David Jones did their best to disrupt Neath’s order, with the former claiming 2-34 and the latter 3-45, but it wasn’t enough to stop them surpassing their target.

Carmarthen Wanderers continue to more than hold their own on their return to the top flight as they notched up a five-wicket triumph at Dafen.

The hosts posted a decent total of 183-5 in their allotted overs, with Nicky Davies smashing an unbeaten 96. However, the Wanderers chased down the runs in the 43rd over with Gareth Grant smashing an unbeaten 93 in an innings that included 11 fours and three sixes. Opener Daniel Jones also cruised past his half century to reach 59.

Meanwhile, Ynystawe eased to a 104-run victory at Llangennech. They took to the crease first and made 180-5 off 50 overs, Gareth Bishop hitting an unbeaten 68 including seven fours and one six. Simon Clement took three of those five wickets for Llangennech for the concession of 35 runs.

Llangennech’s batting order never really got going in their reply. They were skittled out for 76, with Stuart Davies knocking 27 off just 11 balls for the ninth wicket to add some respectability to the total.

Paul Discombe was tormentor in chief, taking five Llangennech wickets for just 28 runs, while Ben Northy claimed another four for 47 to rubber stamp Ynystawe’s authority over the batsmen.

In Division Two, Skewen maintained their unbeaten record with a four-wicket victory at Llanelli. The hosts batted first and were all out for 123, before the leaders chased down 124 for the loss of six wickets.

Fellow title contenders Briton Ferry Steel returned to winning ways as they thrashed Gorseinon by 123 runs and are now just two points adrift of Skewen.

They batted first and set a target of 283-4 as Steven Devonald whacked 96 with the willow, Gavin Pugh contributing another 80 and Paul Evans adding 75.

The Swansea side could only make 160 in their innings as Devonald was once again the star by claiming four wickets. Evans also returned to haunt Gorseinon with a three-wicket haul.

Bronwydd also posted an impressive victory as they won by four wickets at Morriston.

The hosts won the toss and elected to take to the crease. Mark Whittaker made a stand of 82, including 15 fours, while Steve Maddock came close to his half century with an unbeaten 47 as the Swansea-based side reached 236-5. Meirion Davies bowled well for Bronwydd and took two wickets for 26 runs.

The visitors chased their target down in the 50th over to make 239-6. Opener Byron Jones stood guard throughout and smashed 116 off 144 balls, including one six and nine fours. Lee Rees did his best to halt them, taking 3-27.

In a top versus bottom clash in Division Three, leaders Porthcawl defeated Dyffryn to continue their blistering start to the campaign.

Dyffryn lost the toss and were put in, reaching 141. Ian Jones (44) and John Day (29) did their best to keep the run count ticking over, but Tristan Sonnekus and Tom Davies continually pummelled the batsmen and picked up four wickets apiece.

The Seasiders then easily reached their total in the 24th over for the loss of just two wickets. Mark Dixon knocked 49, with Rob Jones hitting 28 and opener Steve Richmond finishing unbeaten on 34.

Division 4 leaders Pwll decimated Neath II’s batting order in a seven-wicket win. Neath were up first but were decimated for just 90, with Pwll sailing past that total for the loss of just three wickets.

Llandeilo were also impressive as they saw off Felinfoel by seven wickets. Hosts Felinfoel won the toss and elected to bat, with Gareth Smith reaching 48 before falling LBW. They totalled 176-9, with Chris Jenkins accounting for seven of their wickets for 50 runs.

Llandeilo reached their target in the 40th over thanks in large to a brilliant and unbeaten 104 off just 125 balls from David Gascoyne. Their 177 was at the expense of just three wickets, Dafydd Jones also knocking an impressive 40 on the way to victory.


Post a Comment