Sunday, 9 June 2013

Neyland continue charge in Pembrokeshire cricket

Pembroke County Cricket League leaders Neyland continued their unbeaten start to the season with a three-wicket triumph at defending champions Carew.

The hosts were put in and Timmy Hicks top scored with 64 as they managed 225-9 off their 45 overs.

Neyland then took to the crease and made 228-6 in the 43rd over. Patrick Bellerby knocked 63 and Andrew Miller (51) and Ashley Sutton (50) both made half centuries to compound Carew to their seventh consecutive defeat.

Whitland climbed above Haverfordwest in to second place after they were victorious by 109 runs at home to Llanrhian and Haverfordwest slipped to a home defeat against Cresselly.

Steffan James starred with both bat and ball for Whitland as the visitors, rooted to the bottom of the table, couldn’t get to their opponents’ target of 290-4.

Whitland were put in to bat and James passed his century with a sensational 105 including 13 fours and two sixes. Paul Davies gave him great support with a 61, while Ed John smashed 52 and Dylan Blain 47.

Llanrhian’s reply drew to a close in the 40th over when they were bowled out for 181. Ben Jones managed 56 and Nigel Delaney 34, but David Dumphey took 3-21, while Mark Lee returned 2-28 and James again haunted Llanrhian by ending the innings of two batsmen for 25 runs.

Haverfordwest dropped below them after being shocked by Cresselly, who recorded their first win of the season by eight wickets.

The hosts were put in but failed to impress as Adam Raymond’s 28 was the only knock of note as they were all out for 121. Cresselly’s Ryan Lewis took three wickets for just 24 runs, while Steffan Jenkins took 3-28 and Bobby Webb 3-25 as the visiting bowlers shone.

Cresselly then surpassed their target in 35 overs. Matthew Morgan’s 55 and Phillip Williams’ 36 saw them to 122-2 to finally give them a victory to celebrate.

Meanwhile, Llangwm also recorded their first victory of the season beating St Ishmaels by 48 runs, while Narberth held off a spirited Lawrenny to emerge as winners by a 62-run margin.

Division 2 Leaders Saundersfoot triumphed by seven wickets at Lamphey. The hosts made 162-8 off their 45 overs but Saundersfoot hit their target with 166-3 with 10 overs to spare. Danny Caine starred with both bat (45 not out) and ball (4-56) for the early season pace setters.

Pembroke climbed in to second with a five-wicket win over Burton. The visitors were all out for 187 despite Robbie Neal surpassing his half century with 53. In reply, James Skeels hit an unbeaten 46 and Ceri Brace also withstood the bowlers for 41 as Pembroke surpassed the total and made 190 with the loss of just five wickets.

Haverfordwest’s second string also failed to win as they were held to a draw at Johnston to see them drop below Pembroke in to third.

Neither side could bowl the others’ batting order out, with the hosts making 201-9 and Haverfordwest II reaching 183-7.

Llechryd secured a comprehensive nine-wicket victory at home to Narberth II in Division 3 to climb above them in to second in the table. The visitors made 126-9 batting first, but a Steve Smith century saw Llechryd hit their target of 127 with the loss of just one wicket.

Division 4 leaders Neyland II could only draw at home to Cresselly III. Lyn Rees starred for the hosts by knocking 77 with the bat and taking two wickets for just six runs, while Scott Jones also hit an unbeaten 86 as they reached 230-4.

But Cresselly III had an in-form Steve Wilkins hitting 46 to help them to 151-7, with Alex Codd (2-29) also impressing with the ball for Neyland II.

Finally, Hundleton continued their charge at the top of Division 5 with an eight-wicket triumph over Pembroke II.

Pembroke II batted first and hit 131-8 thanks in part to 33s from both Don Patel and Jack Harries, with Craig Williams taking two of their wickets for just 20 runs.

But Hundleton strode past the target while losing just two wickets. Luke Williams struck 79, with Craig Williams also reaching 34.


Post a Comment