Sunday, 23 June 2013

Pembrokeshire Saturday cricket round-up

A sensational sixth wicket stand by Patrick Hammon and Andrew Miller saw leaders Neyland to a 19-run victory over Lawrenny in an entertaining encounter in the Nicholas Insurance Pembroke County Cricket League.

Neyland were troubled on 54-5 when Hammon stepped to the fore and knocked 61 and Miller an unbeaten 45 to give them 172-6 off their 45 overs. Robert Williams (3-27) and Stephen Lewis (2-42) had earlier troubled them in Lawrenny’s bowling attack.

In reply, Lawrenny fell for 153 in the final over, with Brad McCleod-Jenkins smashing an impressive 84. Nathan Banner was the tormentor in chief for Neyland, taking half the visitors’ wickets for just 37 runs. Anton John also chipped in to take 2-23, including the all-important final wicket.

There was a nail-biting climax at Cresselly that saw the hosts surpass Narberth’s target with eight balls to spare in a high-scoring thriller.

The visitors were put in to bat and Mark Hughes’ magnificent unbeaten 135, including 10 fours and seven sixes, coupled with Ben Quartermaine’s 60 not out seemed to have done enough when Narberth reached 223-4 off their 45 overs.

Yet Matthew Morgan had other ideas. His unbeaten 112 was the highlight as Cresselly made 226-4 in the 44th over to triumph by six wickets. It looked at one stage like they wouldn’t make it due to the extremely economical bowling of Ian Hughes. Though he didn’t take a wicket, the first six of his 12 overs ended in maidens, with just 20 runs conceded in the remaining six.

Elsewhere, Haverfordwest climbed above Whitland and St Ishmaels in to second with a four-wicket victory at the first of those clubs. The hosts were put in but could only manage 163, with Haverfordwest passing their total in the 41st over as they made 167-6.

St Ishmaels dropped to third after basement club Llanrhian shocked them to triumph by six wickets, thanks in large to Geraint Morris’ unbeaten 41. With St Ishmaels all out for 118, Morris helped them surpass their target in the 35th over for the loss of just four wickets.

Defending champions Carew earned a winning draw at home to Llangwm, with Brian Hall knocking an unbeaten 50 for the hosts.

Division 2 leaders Saundersfoot continued their title challenge in an attempt to get back into the top flight at the first time of asking with a 159-run thrashing of Whitland II.

Paul Mansbridge was the hero as he smashed 93 in an opening partnership of 151 with Dai Davies, who knocked 43 as Saundersfoot made 229-9 off their 45 overs.

Whitland were skittled out for 70 in reply, Davies taking 3-20, Danny Caine 4-26 and Nick Cope dismissing two batsmen for just two runs in two overs to finish them off.

Elsewhere, Haverfordwest II thrashed hapless Carew II, skittling them all out for 45. James Morris took six wickets for just 16 runs, with Avron Roulstone taking 4-28. They then made 47-1 with Adam Raymond top scoring with an unbeaten 19.

The top two in Division 3 also posted impressive wins. Hook (61-2) annihilated Crymych (59) by eight wickets, while Camrose & Spittal (109) made Llechryd (111-5) work slightly harder for their five-wicket victory.

In Division 5, there was another nervous finish as Herbrandston II won at Pembroke II by a single run. Ashley Britton helped them to triumph, hitting 20 as they made 92, before taking 3-22 as Pembroke II fell for 91 in the closest of finales.

Finally in Division 6, Llechryd II thrashed Lamphey II by 257 runs. Mark Newell earned a few drinks in the pavilion afterwards with a phenomenal unbeaten 200 as his side declared for 331-5. He then picked up the ball and took 3-9 as Lamphey II were skittled out for 74.


Post a Comment