Monday, 10 June 2013

Penarth trounce Malpas to ensure Gwalia Cup progression

Penarth destroyed Malpas in a 10-wicket thrashing that saw them romp in to round four of the Gwalia Cup.

Malpas won the toss and elected to bat but they were quickly skittled out for 49 in the 23rd over, with only David Martin (15) reaching double figures. They won’t want to face Mark Thomas again after the Penarth bowler felled four wickets in four overs at a concession of just 10 runs. Tom Sidford also took 2-9.

In reply, it took Penarth just 8.5 overs to surpass their target without the loss of a wicket, Jonathan Davies hitting an unbeaten 30 and Rhys Morgan contributing 14 not out.

They now face Barry who overcame Newport in their third round fixture.

A magnificent 108 off just 113 balls from Akhtar Balouch helped Panteg to a 172-run victory over Chepstow to progress. They made 311-4 off their 40 overs, while Chepstow could only make 139-7 in reply, with Panteg’s Christopher Mee capturing two of their wickets for 14 runs.

They will play Usk in the next round, after Newbridge conceded their fixture due to being unable to raise a side.

Cardiff posted a victory over Aberdare by nine-wickets. Aberdare elected to bat and made 168-7 in their 40 overs with Geoffrey Derrick falling just short of his half century on 48. Dale Boorman finished as Cardiff’s top bowler, taking four wickets for 24 runs in his eight overs.

Cardiff surpassed their score after 30 overs with the loss of just a single wicket – Ruaidhri Smith (79no) and Greg Holmes (81no) doing most of the work.

They will play Port Talbot Town, who defeated Pontypridd by 86 runs thanks largely to Anthony Thomas’ magnificent 116 off just 95 balls including 21 fours. Their 262-6 was too high for Ponty, who were out for 176 after 36 overs.

Ynysygerwn beat Ynystawe by five wickets to make the next round with Matthew Hobden starring for the winners with an unbeaten 94. They will face Blackwood, who picked up a seven-wicket victory over Gowerton.

Dafen Welfare edged a tight fixture with Mumbles to progress by a single wicket. Mumbles won the toss and decided to bat, Ben Francis’ 52 helping them to 139 all out in the 38th over, as Aamir Ikram skittled three of their batsmen for just 14 runs in 7.3 overs.

Dafen made 142-9 in reply, Nicky Davies’ 44 a highlight as they stumbled home despite Mumbles’ Luke Brown doing his best to stop them by taking four wickets for 27 runs.

Swansea will face them after defeating Skewen by nine wickets, while Ammanford and Carew will also meet after ending the runs of Pontarddulais by 34 runs and Aberystwyth by six wickets respectively.

Hawarden Park thrashed Buckley by nine wickets. Putting Buckley in, they had them out for 193, with only really Phil Bradfield (55) and Jordan Baxter (25) standing up to their bowling attack.

Hawarden only needed 34 overs to surpass the target with Michael Parton unbeaten on 67, Craig Wilson knocking an unbeaten 65 and Tom Ducker’s 48 bringing the win.

They will play Northop next for who Darren Williams (95) starred as they held off Lley Welfare to triumph by 38 runs despite the Welfare’s John Lloyd breaking a century with an unbeaten 107.

North Wales champions Llandudno will meet Denbigh after they overcame Prestatyn by 60 runs and the latter put Abergele to the sword by five wickets.


Post a Comment