Tuesday, 29 May 2012

Like father, like son for Neath winners

THE final West Wales Golf Alliance meeting of the season was a real family affair with Neath father and son, Peter and Jonathan Morgan, claiming first prize at Llantrisant & Pontyclun.

The duo combined to post a winning net score of 65, four-under-par, to win by one stroke from Royal Porthcawl’s Richard Hendicott and Paul Naysmith with host club pro Andrew Bowen and Phil Holiday third on 67.

In the end, just three shots separated the top four home with Gower’s Gavin Godbeer and Llewelyn Miller having to settle for fourth with a round of 68.

The 2012/13 Alliance season starts in September when Glynhir hosts the first of four meetings before the turn of the year. Cradoc, Ashburnham and Neath are the venues for the other three events in October, November and December respectively.

Club competitions have been coming thick and fast as the glorious weather gets golfers out on the course to make the most of the conditions.

At Ashburnham, there was no stopping Sophie Anderson and Olwen Davies in the Easter Greensome Stableford. The duo won the event at a canter with 44 points, eight more than Elizabeth Ervine and Lynette Mortimer in second. Three further back were Jean Peace and Yvonne Williams.

It was a lot closer in the Evan Williams Cup as Andrea Martin shot a net 76 to clinch first prize, one ahead of Eleanor Roberts and two in front of Leena Lodha. In the men’s Colliver Bowl, Jonathan Blewett (net 70) was the stand out performer.

A net 65 gave Kyran Lewis the bragging rights in the Club Medal and GUW qualifier at Derllys Court while the seniors’ third round of the Dawn Patrol competition was claimed by Peter Jones on 43 points.

Strong cross winds resulted in almost 30 players being unable to conclude their round in the second stage of the Millennium Cup Medal at Swansea Bay. But first team players Bryan Ashford and Mike Grieves fared best with Ashford’s net 70 taking top honours.

The Lockley Pairs better-ball medal was won by current club champion and course record holder Ben Hinchey with his partner Clive Adams.

The Ladies’ Eunice Jory four-ball better-ball at Carmarthen was won by Susan Saunders and Ina Davies with 43 points. In a tight finish, they held off Jane Thomas and Jennifer Williams on the back nine. Jean Barratt and Rebecca Robinson were just behind on 42 to take third place.

Mick Fenney’s 40 points gave him the first round of the Seniors’ W L Davies Cup in fine style. Three players scored 38, with Stuart Barclay just about securing the runner-up spot over Tim Harries on last three countback. Simon Barratt was fourth on the same score.

The Seniors ‘C’ team won their match in the South Wales Seniors Classic against Derllys Court by two matches to one, they now play Tenby ‘A’ at home in the next round. The ‘B’ team, playing in the cup, have been drawn to play Neath, also at home, and if either win their matches they will progress to the quarter-finals.

The Members and Guests Open competition over the weekend was a huge success with 140 golfers playing in gorgeous, if windy, conditions with the course looking at its best. The Maridunum Vase was won by Aled and Jane Thomas with an astonishing net score of 62, 12 better than anyone else.

John and Joanne Dive were runners-up with 74.5, beating Clifford and Julia Webb on the back nine.

Matthew Moseley has had a great week in various top class amateur events. On Tuesday, he travelled to Worksop in Nottinghamshire to play in the qualifier for the prestigious Brabazon trophy. Scoring 72, he tied for 11th in a large field and so qualified to play in the trophy proper at Walton Heath later in the year.

Then it was off to Prestatyn to play in the Welsh Open Strokeplay where, after solid rounds of 77, 74, 72 and 75 he finished tied 14th out of 120 golfers and had the added pleasure of playing the final two rounds with Walker Cup captain Nigel Edwards.

A score of 38 points was enough to see Alwyne Pugh to the Prosser Evans Cup at Pennard. Wayne Williams was two back in second and Neil Smitham third with 35. Alastair Verbruggen, John Webb and T Glyn Evans were the best of the rest in divisions one, two and three respectively.



Evan Williams Cup; 1. Andrea Martin net 76, 2. Eleanor Roberts 77, 3. Leena Lodha 78

Colliver Bowl; 1. Jonathan Blewett net 70, 2. Peter Probert 74, 3. Andrew Leahy 75

Easter Greensome Stableford; 1. Sophie Anderson & Olwen Davies 44pts, 2. Elizabeth Ervine & Lynette Mortimer 36, 3. Jean Peace & Yvonne Williams 33


Ladies Eunice Jory Fourball; 1. Susan Saunders & Ina Davies 43pts, 2. Jane Thomas & Jennifer Williams 43, 3. Jean Barratt & Rebecca Robinson 42

Maridunum Vase; 1. Aled & Jane Thomas net 62, 2. John & Joanne Dive 74.5, 3. Clifford & Julia Webb 74.5

Seniors WL Davies Cup; 1. Mick Fenney 40pts, 2. Stuart Barclay 38, 3. Tim Harries 38

Junior Open; 1. Tomos Evans net 64, 2. Edwards Rocke 68, 3. Lewis Sizer 70

Super Six Order of Merit; 1. David Thomas net 68, 2. Alan Price 68, 3. Ian Marks 69

Tretower Cup; (div one) 1. Edward Wheeler net 72, Iwan Parry 73, 3. Rhys Linquist 73, (div two) 1. Kevin Edmunds 66, 2. Richard Hopkin 68, 3. Tony Jones 69, (div three) 1. James Bryan 70, 2. Dylan Richards 71, 3. Steve Thomas 72

Derllys Court

Seniors Dawn Patrol round three; 1. Peter Jones 43pts (1st div two), 2. Huw Jones 37 (2nd div two), 3. Roy Gallop 36 (1st div one), 4. Chris Palmer 35 (2nd div one)

Medal and GUW qualifier; (div one) 1. Kyran Lewis net 65, 2. Robert Leefe 66, 3. Phillip Pickersgill 68, (div two) 1. Arwyn Thomas 67, 2. Geraint Jones 69, 3. Idwal Thomas 69, (div three) 1. Raymond Newth 70, 2. Martin Davies 73, 3. Gerald Evans 75

Llantrisant & Pontyclun

West Wales Golf Association; 1. Peter & Jonathan Morgan (Neath) 65, 2. Richard Hendicott & Paul Naysmith (Royal Porthcawl) 66, 3. Andrew Bowen & Phil Holiday (Llantrisant & Pontyclun) 67


Llanllienwen Cup; 1. B. Watts & T. James 41pts, 2. C. Marshall & L. Johnson 40, 3. G. Matthews & D. Jones 38

Club Championship Qualifier; 1. M. Williams net 65, 2. L. Davies 69, (0-12 Hcap) 1. N. Morgan 70, 2. I Davies 70


Prosser Evans Cup; 1. Alwyne Pugh 38pts, 2. Wayne Williams 36, 3. Neil Smitham 35

Best of the rest; (div one) 1. Alastair Verbruggen 34pts, (div two) 1. John Webb 34, (div three) 1. T Glyn Evans 35

Swansea Bay

Thursday Stableford; 1. D. Gough 46pts, 2. C. Griffiths 42, 3. D. Price 41

Millennium Cup Medal; 1. B. Ashford net 70, 2. M. Grieves 71, 3. R. Baker 72

Lockley Pairs; 1. B. Hinchey & C. Adams net 65, 2. G. Jenkins & D. Wootton 65, 3. A. Crecraft & P. Thomas 66


Post a Comment