Sunday, 26 May 2013

South Wales Cricket Association and Pembroke County Cricket League Saturday round-up

Leaders Neath maintained their winning start to the campaign with a nine wicket victory at Cowbridge in the South Wales Cricket Association Division One.

The Vale of Glamorgan side elected to bat first but were all out for 124; Jack Harris making a notable 45. Neath’s bowling attack was in commanding form with Kieron Bull taking five wickets for just 30 runs.

Neath reached 125 from 42 overs with the loss of just one wicket. Kieron Thomas reached 57 not out, while Gareth Davies also evaded Cowbridge’s bowling attack to contribute 42.

Ynystawe left it late but picked up a morale-boosting victory over Dafen by surpassing their total in the final over.

Having been put in to bat, the Carmarthenshire side were all out for 147 in 49.4 overs, with Dafydd Nicholas and Jamie Mansell both notching 26. Karl Roberts and Andrew Beasley bowled well for the visitors, taking 3-40 and 3-37 respectively.

Roberts then starred with the bat and helped his side with an unbeaten 47. Rowan Evans pitched in with a competent 35 to push them to 151-9 off 49.5 overs. Andrew Rowlands was Dafen’s top bowler, chipping in to take two wickets for 26.

Elsewhere, Clydach overcame Maesteg Celtic by two wickets, with Tata Steel holding off Llangennech to win their battle by 47 runs, and Carmarthen Wanderers earning a winning draw against Gowerton.

In Division Two, Llandysul kept up their good start with a six wicket victory at Llanelli. Batting first, the hosts reached 228-6 with Adam Coates making 60 and Sam Weeds smashing 54 off just 24 balls.

The visitors reached their total of 230 with the loss of just four wickets in the last over, with Ben Edkins’ 83 not out their biggest contribution.

Swansea Civil Service and Aberdare fought out an entertaining draw. The Cynon Valley side batted first and reached 222-7, with captain and former Glamorgan coach John Derrick knocking 86, Luke Garthwaite reaching 34 and Steve Manning contributing 31.

Keith Prydderch led the Civil Service bowling attack by taking 2 wickets for 27 runs, with John Wright returning figures of 2-37.

In reply, they reached 154-6, with Nick Davies top scoring with 37 and Scott Thomas reaching 29 not out. Aberdare’s Sam Lincoln was lethal with the ball in hand to take three wickets for just 12 runs.

Elsewhere, leaders Briton Ferry Steel kept up their unbeaten start with an eight wicket win at Pontardawe, while Gorseinon won at Morriston by 20 runs and Skewen also posted an eight wicket victory over Bronwydd.

In Division Three, Porthcawl went to the top of the table with a convincing 74-run success at Drefach. Steve Richmond hit 59 for the Seasiders as they reached 178-8. Drefach were then skittled out for 104, with Tristan Sonnekus taking three wickets for just 14 runs.

Porthcawl replaced Maesteg at the summit after the Llynfi Valley outfit went down by five wickets at home to Landore.

With Division Four leaders Pwll being held to a draw by Llandeilo, Baglan cut the gap from 24 points to just two by overwhelming Kidwelly by nine wickets. Adam Wassell posted impressive bowling figures of 5-36.

In Pembrokeshire, Neyland closed the gap on County Cricket Division 1 leaders Haverfordwest with an impressive nine wicket victory at Whitland.

The hosts were skittled out for 96, with Nathan Banner taking half their wickets for just 19 runs. The visitors surpassed that with the loss of just one wicket; Paul Murray knocking 42 not out, with Ashley Sutton hitting an unbeaten 35.

Haverfordwest are now just six points clear after being held to a draw by Carew. Danny Potter was their most successful batsman with a haul of 57, while Adam James contributed 35. Carew’s Robert Scourfield took two of their wickets cheaply for just a single run.

When they took to the crease, Carew’s Rhys Davies hit 29 not out with the bat, with Tom Davies adding a useful 32. Clive Tucker did what he could to damage Carew’s innings with three wickets for just 16 runs.

Elsewhere, third-placed Narberth were held to a draw by bottom side Llanrhian despite posting an impressive 235-3 in their innings. Richie Adams repelled the Llanrhian attack with an unbeaten 109, with Gareth Davies claiming two of the three wickets for 32 runs. Ben Jones hit 82 of Llanrhian’s total.

Cresselly moved clear of Llanrhian with a draw at Llangwm, while St Ishmaels handed out a five wicket beating to Lawrenny.

In Division Two, Pembroke kept up the chase on leaders Saundersfoot with an emphatic 10-wicket victory over Lamphey. Ceri Brace took three Lamphey wickets for just 17 runs as they were all out for 65, then he took up the bat to hit 40 not out, with Paul White adding an unbeaten 26 to win it.

Saundersfoot did their bit, beating Johnston by five wickets, with Phil Jones’ 31 their biggest contribution. Johnston had been bowled out for 127 batting first, with Simon Wood taking three of the wickets for just 17 runs.

Hook defeated Pembroke Dock by 113 runs to remain 35 points clear at the top of Division Three, Jamie Phelps falling just short of his century with 95.

Second-placed Narberth II triumphed by 145 runs at Saundersfoot II having bowled out their hosts for 120. Sean Coker was their main threat, taking half the wickets for just 38 runs. Joel Davies had previously hit an impressive 68 as they finished their innings on 265-5.

Neyland II climbed above Haverfordwest III to the top of Division Four thanks to a five wicket triumph over the deposed leaders.

Alex Codd hit the Haverfordwest bowlers for 76, while Scott Jones added 60 runs to the scoreboard. Jon Tooze was Haverfordwest’s top batsman with 68.

Having started in third, Neyland II also climbed above Burton who lost at home to bottom club Fishguard by six wickets and now find themselves fifth below Kilgetty and Hook II.


Post a Comment