Thursday, 11 September 2014

Welsh internationals return to Dragons starting 15

International stars Hallam Amos and Taulupe Faletau will make their return to the Newport Gwent Dragons starting 15 to take on Welsh rivals the Ospreys on Friday 12th September, KO 19:35.

Amos returns to play for the Men of Gwent after an injury he sustained in June stopped him from going on the Wales Tour to South Africa.  The full-back/ wing underwent successful surgery in June to his shoulder after tearing parts of his labrum. Faletau also returns to the fold after being rested after his time with the International team for the Wales Tour of South Africa against the Springboks.

Director of Rugby Lyn Jones has selected a similar side to the one that was named to face Connacht last weekend, with the exception of three players. Jones has named an international back three with skipper Lee Byrne taking the helm at fullback, alongside wings Hallam Amos and Rodney Parade favourite Aled Brew. The centre pairing remains the same as last weekend with youngsters Tyler Morgan and Jack Dixon being selected. Halfbacks Jason Tovey and Jonathan Evans also retain their places in the team.

There have been no changes made to the props as Boris Stankovich and Lloyd Fairbrother make their second start of the season for the Dragons, they are joined in the front row by hooker Elliot Dee. The second row has one change as Ian Gough steps in to take on his old teammates alongside Rynard Landman. Both flankers, Evans and Cudd get the nod from Jones and are joined in the back row by number 8 Taulupe Faletau.

There have been five changes made to the replacements bench as T. Rhys Thomas, Owen Evans and Dan Way are joined by Andrew Coombs, Andy Powell, Richie Rees, Angus O'Brien and Tom Prydie.

Newport Gwent Dragons Team to face the Ospreys

Lee Byrne ©, Hallam Amos, Tyler Morgan, Jack Dixon, Aled Brew, Jason Tovey, Jonathan Evans; Boris Stankovich, Elliot Dee, Lloyd Fairbrother, Ian Gough, Rynard Landman, Lewis Evans, Nic Cudd, Taulupe Faletau.


T. Rhys Thomas, Owen Evans, Dan Way, Andrew Coombs, Andy Powell, Richie Rees, Angus O'Brien, Tom Prydie.


Post a Comment