Friday, 12 September 2014

Big occasion at the RDS will spur on Scarlets

Scarlets take on reigning champions Leinster at the RDS tomorrow in the second round of the Guinness PRO12.
The Welsh region will be looking to build on the positives, which included four tries, against Ulster at Parc y Scarlets.
Scarlets fullback Liam Williams is named in the starting XV having been cleared of any playing suspension following his red card (after two yellows) in the opening clash against Ulster last weekend.
Scott Williams is joined in the centre by Gareth Owen, who replaces the injured Regan King, whilst Jordan Williams comes in on the wing to replace the injured Michael Tagicakibau.
The only change to the pack sees Aaron Shingler replace Rob McCusker who moves to the replacements bench.
Scarlets Head Coach Wayne Pivac said: "Saturday's game against Leinster should be a good opportunity for us to test ourselves against a very good team away from home.
"For us, it's about concentrating on what we're doing and getting that right, It's still very early. There are lots of improvements to come in this team and we have plenty to build on. Really for us, this time of the year there's a lot of work to do on your own game especially coming in as a new coach.
"All rugby players love playing in front of a big crowd. Bigger the crowd, bigger the occasion and bigger the performance and hopefully we'll be no different. No matter where you play, it's great to play in front of a bumper crowd.”
Scarlets' only loss in their last six PRO12 encounters was to Cardiff Blues on Judgement Day in April whilst Leinster faced a narrow defeat against Glasgow in the opening round of the 2014-15 campaign last weekend.
Scarlets team to take on Leinster at the RDS, Saturday 13th September kick-off 2.40pm:
15 Liam Williams, 14 Harry Robinson, 13 Gareth Owen, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Jordan Williams, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Rhodri Williams, 1 Phil John, 2 Ken Owens ©, Rhodri Jones, 4 Jake Ball, 5 Johan Snyman, 6 Aaron Shingler, 7 John Barclay, 8 Rory Pitman

Emyr Phillips, Rob Evans, Peter Edwards, Richard Kelly, Rob McCusker, Aled Davies, Steven Shingler, Adam Warren


Post a Comment