Sunday, 24 August 2014

Haverfordwest win Harrison Allen crown

With the cricket season drawing to a close, clubs across Wales continue to battle it out for honours, WRITES CARL FIELD.

Among those celebrating this weekend were Haverfordwest, who defeated hosts Cresselly to win the Harrison Alllen Bowl – the showpiece event on the Pembrokeshire cricket calender.

There were notable contributions from Dai Davies, who hit two half centuries, Danny Potter (77), along with Simon Holliday, who scored 65 as well as collecting a five-for with the ball, as Haverfordwest beat Cresselly by 128 runs.

The match was contested over two innings of 22 overs a side, with Haverfordwest – batting first –  posting 196-7 and 201-6 while Cresselly – who had home advantage – only mustering 158-8 and 111 all out. Iwan Izzard did manage to hit a half century for the hosts.

Also celebrating are Ammanford, who have been crowned South Wales Cricket Association Division One champions – therefore securing an immediate return to Premier League cricket after relegation last season.

They won by six wickets at Gowerton with Matthew Roberts (7-44) ripping through the hosts batting line-up, while opener Alun Evans (64) smashed 11 fours and two sixes to help inspire Ammanford to a six-wicket win.

In Division Four, Llantwit Major Cavaliers ensured they will be playing Division Three cricket next season with a six-wicket win at Neath thirds.

If your club has a story or pictures it would like to appear on the blog, drop an email to


Post a Comment