Thursday, 25 July 2013

The battle for the Victory Shield reaches its climax

Only four teams remain in the battle to be crowned 2013 Victory Shield Foursomes champions with the semifinals and final set for Monday July 29 at Asburnham.

Newport are the only team left in the competition that have taken home the trophy before, last winning back in 1995. The three remaining clubs have never claimed the honours, although Haverfordwest came close five years ago when they lost out in the final to Celtic Manor.
The Gwent side saw off Holywell in the quarter-finals at Wrexham and will now face Mountain Ash, with Newport likely to stick with the combination of former club champion, Rhys Barber, and former British Police champion, Chris Dinsdale, for the contest. Mountain Ash will rely on Ian Flowers and Rhys Jones to produce the goods for the Cynon Valley club.
The other semifinal sees Haverfordwest take on Borth & Ynyslas, after they saw off Cottrell Park and Pyle & Kenfig respectively.
Former Welsh Internationals Michael Harris and Richard Scott will lead Haverfordwest’s challenge, while Borth & Ynyslas sees the recent Tucker Trophy winner, Zach Galliford, team up with the club’s greenskeeper, Marc Lewis.


Post a Comment